Forums » Welcome » Team etiqutte?

Messages for Team etiqutte?

Comment Posted by tom Apr 04, 2009 04:11 PM

Guys,

I thought I'd use the site to post some of my thoughts on the team in general. Before I start, my career in soccer started 2 seasons ago, I don't watch the game on TV or follow a team. Point being I'm no expert and am happy to corrected where I've got it wrong. I also recognise that I don't always manage to follow my own advice.

So, my first thought is about "why do we play and how important is winning".

For me, winning is very important. Its not a feeling I've had often - from memory the Blues had 3 wins in the 2 years that I played with them. But when we did win it was very satisfying.

Towards the goal of winning, I believe that we should endeavor to train as hard and as often as we can, look after our creaky old bodies, play to the best of our ability (no question we all do that), and work as a team.

Having said that, we're also here to have fun and be involved, and while sport is more fun when you're winning, I think the involvement bit takes precedence. So, we understand that some people can't make training or games for whatever reason - at our age family and work come first. I also think its important that if someone tries his best but is utterly crap (like me?) we still make that bloke welcome, give him time on the field and encourage him to keep on trying.

I also feel its important to play in a sportsmanlike manner. I remember a game last year when one of our team scored and was given the goal, and then went and told the umpire that he felt he had fouled the opposition, and our goal became a free kick to the other side. Now that was controversial! The bad part was that a couple of our team started to really argue with the ref and the opposition about his decision; it got very heated and I really didn't enjoy that particular game as a result.